What Is ISASecure?

ISASecure featured

Modern industry relies heavily on automation and control systems to maintain efficiency, productivity, and safety. With the increasing integration of these systems into broader networks, the risk of cyberattacks has significantly grown. ISASecure, a globally recognized cybersecurity certification program, is a critical certification body providing standards and assessments to protect these integral systems against modern threats.

This article discusses the importance of ISASecure, certification schemes, benefits, and how it contributes to a more secure industrial environment.

What Is ISASecure?

ISASecure is a globally recognized cybersecurity certification program focused on industrial automation and control systems (IACS). The certification, developed by the ISA Security Compliance Institute (ISCI), aims to ensure that products, systems, and processes within the industrial sector adhere to robust cybersecurity standards.

ISASecure certifications are designed to address the unique cybersecurity needs of industrial automation and control systems, which are critical for the energy, water, manufacturing, and transportation sectors.

The program emphasizes the security of IACS from design through deployment and maintenance, ensuring the integrity, availability, and confidentiality of critical systems.


What Are ISASecure Certifications?


In IACS, cybersecurity is paramount. ISASecure, a globally recognized certification program, provides a robust framework for evaluating and certifying the security of industrial components, systems, and development processes based on the ISA/IEC 62443 standards. Here is an overview of the main ISASecure certifications:


Component Security Assurance (CSA)

Standard: ISA/IEC 62443-4-2

SCA ensures that individual components of IACS adhere to stringent cybersecurity standards. It validates the security robustness of components, assessing features like authentication, encryption, and access control to ensure they meet industry standards.


IIoT Component Security Assurance (ICSA)

Standard: ISA/IEC 62443-4-2

ICSA focuses on the security of components used in the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT).

 ICSA addresses specific security requirements for IoT devices, ensuring they are resilient against cyber threats and vulnerabilities.


System Security Assurance (SSA)

Standard: ISA/IEC 62443-3-3

Certifies the security of entire control systems, including both hardware and software. This certification evaluates system-level security, ensuring that integrated security features are robust and the system can withstand potential cyber-attacks.


Security Development Lifecycle Assurance (SDLA)

Standard: ISA/IEC 62443-4-1

Assesses the security practices of the product development lifecycle. SDLA certification ensures that secure development processes are in place, evaluating the adoption of best practices throughout the product development phases to mitigate security risks from inception to deployment.


Automation Control Systems Security Assurance (ACSSA)

Standard: ISA/IEC 62443-2-1, 2-4, 3-2, 3-3

Certifies automation control systems against multiple ISA/IEC 62443 standards. ACSSA provides a comprehensive assessment covering various aspects of system security, ensuring that automation control systems comply with a broad set of security requirements.


How Do ISASecure Standards Align with NIST Standards?

ISASecure certification aligns with NIST standards in several ways, particularly regarding cybersecurity requirements and best practices. Here are some key points of alignment:

  • Risk Management Framework (RMF): Alignment: ISASecure certifications incorporate risk management principles to ensure that industrial automation and control systems are designed, implemented, and maintained with robust cybersecurity measures.
  • Cybersecurity Framework (CSF): This provides a policy framework of computer security guidance for how private sector organizations can assess and improve their ability to prevent, detect, and respond to cyberattacks. ISASecure certification processes mirror the CSF’s core functions (Identify, Protect, Detect, Respond, Recover) by requiring comprehensive security assessments and implementing protective measures for IACS.
  • NIST Special Publication 800-53: This publication provides a catalog of security and privacy controls for federal information systems. ISASecure certifications, such as EDSA, SSA, and SDLA, require compliance with similar security controls, ensuring that embedded devices, systems, and development processes meet stringent cybersecurity criteria.
  • NIST Special Publication 800-82: This guide provides specific guidance on securing ICS, which includes supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) systems, distributed control systems, and other control system configurations. ISASecure certification focuses on the cybersecurity of IACS, directly addressing the needs outlined in NIST SP 800-82. The certification process includes system, network, and device security assessments, which are crucial components of ICS security per NIST guidelines.
  • NIST Special Publication 800-40: SASecure certifications include vulnerability testing and management requirements, ensuring certified products and systems can effectively handle vulnerabilities through proper patch management and response strategies.


Why Undergo ISASecure Certification?

ISASecure certification offers numerous advantages for manufacturers, asset owners, and integrators involved in industrial automation and control systems. Here are the key benefits:

  • Enhanced Cybersecurity: Ensures products and systems are resilient against cyber threats, safeguarding critical infrastructure.
  • Market Differentiation: Acts as a mark of quality and reliability, providing a competitive edge.
  • Regulatory Compliance: Assists in meeting industry regulations and standards, reducing legal risks and penalties.
  • Reduced Liability: Demonstrates commitment to higher security standards, potentially lowering liability in cyber incidents.
  • Improved Product Quality: Ensures rigorous assessment processes lead to high-quality, secure products.


Prepare for ISASecure Certification with Lazarus Alliance

There are several ways to secure your infrastructure, and ISASecure offers certifications based on leading technologies like operational systems and IoT. To get started on your ISASecure journey, work with a trusted and experienced security firm. Work with Lazarus Alliance. 

To learn more, contact us

Lazarus Alliance